All-Mississippi & All-Publication Awards

All MS Honorees 

MSPA is proud to announce its 2023 class of All-Mississippi Honorees. Nineteen students from across the state compiled online portfolios of their finest works from a variety of journalistic areas and submitted them for statewide evaluation. From those submissions, a multi-state team of judges selected 11 students as being a cut above the rest, representing the absolute finest examples of high school journalists currently enrolled in Mississippi high schools. The cohort is headlined by the Mississippi High School Journalist of the Year and the Orley Hood sports journalist of the year.

MS High School Journalist of the Year: 

Winnie Wilson — Oxford HS


Orley Hood Award for Excellence in Sports Journalism:

Gia Picarella — St. Joseph Catholic School


At-large Honorees:

Charlotte Wilson — Lewisburg HS

Cooper Hicks — Hernando HS

Mattie Beauchamp — Oxford HS

Noah Amidon — Oxford HS

Mary Kennedy Bowlin — South Panola HS

Adriana Terrazas — St. Joseph Catholic School

Emerson Erwin — St. Joseph Catholic School

Alexis Leasy — Tupelo HS

Thomas Roper — Tupelo HS

Kara Graham — Tupelo HS


All Publications Awards 

Scholastic Press Ally Award:

WINNER: Jake Long — Desoto Central HS


Beth Fitts UM Scholarship:

WINNER: Cooper Hicks — Hernando HS

WINNER: Luke Dunavant — Magnolia Heights School


Best Integrated Marketing Campaign (IMC):

WINNER: Flashback — Oxford HS

Insightful campaign to raise sells in yearbooks by offering snow cones if goal was met!


Patriot Vision — Lewisburg HS


Best Social Media Presence:

WINNER: Patriot Vision — Lewisburg HS

Lewisburg has it going on. They shared the most different account links with us, along with thoughts and uses of each one. And you can see that thoughtful application through their accounts. Each account has a purpose and philosophy and each is well taken care of.


WTHS — Tupelo HS

Wave Media — Tupelo HS