All-Mississippi & All-Publication Awards

All MS Honorees 

MSPA is proud to announce its 2022 class of All-Mississippi Honorees. Fourteen students from across the state compiled online portfolios of their finest works from a variety of journalistic areas and submitted them for statewide evaluation. From those submissions, a multi-state team of judges selected 9 students as being a cut above the rest, representing the absolute finest examples of high school journalists currently enrolled in Mississippi high schools. The cohort is headlined by the Mississippi High School Journalist of the Year and the Orley Hood sports journalist of the year.

MS High School Journalist of the Year: Laura Renfroe, Pelahatchie HS

Orley Hood Award for Excellence in Sports Journalism: Hannah Hoang, Amory High School

At-large Honorees:

Meri Alan Wolfe, Tupelo HS

Ashtyn Farris, Hernando HS

Hassell Wilkinson, Oxford HS

Ava Lacey, Tupelo HS

Rosie Frugé, Oxford HS

Emerson Erwin, St. Joseph Catholic School

Sarah Buzzell, Tupelo HS

All Publications Awards 


Scholastic Press Ally Award:

WINNER: Coty Cox — Amory HS


Best Integrated Marketing Campaign (IMC):

WINNER: Lewisburg — Lewisburg HS

Excellent marketing campaign. Promoted app effectively and promotional graphic has a nice color theme and layout.


Best Social Media Presence:

WINNER: JNN — Madison Central HS

Consistent on all social media platforms. Has a great balance between informing and entertaining. Graphics are easy to read.


Lewisburg — Lewisburg HS

WTHS — Tupelo HS